Question: What sports are in the Olympic decathlon?

There are 10 disciplines in decathlon: the 100 meters, long jump, shot put, high jump, 400 meters, 110-meter hurdles, discus, pole vault, javelin and 1,500 meters. In Olympic decathlon, 24 athletes compete for medals.

Is heptathlon an Olympic sport?

The men’s heptathlon is older and is held indoors, while the women’s is held outdoors and was introduced in the 1980s, first appearing in the Olympics in 1984.


Athletics Heptathlon
World records
Men Ashton Eaton 6645 pts (2012)
Women Jackie Joyner-Kersee 7291 pts (1988)
Olympic records

What is the difference between decathlon heptathlon and pentathlon?

Originally Answered: What is the difference between Heptathlon, Pentathlon and Decathlon in Olympic sport? Pentathlon is 5 event, Heptathlon is 7 event and Decathlon is 10 event sport in Olympics.

What’s the meaning of heptathlon?

: a 7-event athletic contest specifically : a composite contest for female athletes that consists of the 100-meter hurdles, the high jump, the shot put, the 200-meter dash, the long jump, the javelin throw, and the 800-meter run.

What’s in a heptathlon?

What are the sports in heptathlon? There are seven disciplines in heptathlon: the 100-meter hurdles, high jump, shot put, 200 meters, long jump, javelin and 800 meters. Like decathlon, 24 athletes compete for medals in Olympic heptathlon.

What is difference between pentathlon and decathlon?

is that decathlon is an athletic contest consisting of ten events which includes sprinting, hurdling, jumping, and throwing over a span of two days while pentathlon is an ancient athletics discipline, featuring five events: stadion, wrestling, long jump, javelin and discus.

IMPORTANT:  What is the Olympic Committee including its role and functions?
Olympic Games Blog