Who won the men’s and women’s single tennis title at the 2016 Summer Olympics?

Event Gold
Men’s singles Andy Murray Great Britain
Men’s doubles Spain (ESP) Marc López Rafael Nadal
Women’s singles Monica Puig Puerto Rico
Women’s doubles Russia (RUS) Ekaterina Makarova Elena Vesnina

Who is the only tennis player to win a medal in Summer Olympics?

Andy Murray is the only player to have won two singles gold medals, and the only singles player to have retained the Olympic title.

Tennis at the Summer Olympics
Governing body ITF
Events 5 (men: 2; women: 2; mixed: 1)

Who is the first Indian woman to win an Olympic medal?

First-ever Indian woman to win an Olympic medal, Karnam Malleswari brought won a bronze medal in the weightlifting 69kg women’s category of Sydney Olympics.

Popularity of Tennis Around the World

ranking Country Regional Popularity *
1 Australia 100
2 France 71
3 New Zealand 70
4 Switzerland 69

Is Olympic tennis prestigious?

Tennis at the Olympics in its current form is only 30 years old (not including 1896–1924) and has been held 8 times compared to the decades of history the Grandslams have. That being said, the prestige of being an Olympian itself is unparalleled and that is what seems to resonate among the players[1].

IMPORTANT:  Which country has won the most Olympic speed skating medals?
Olympic Games Blog